Faculty of Engineering

Awards and Distinctions

The University of Duisburg-Essen has been awarded the 2015 Employer Prize for Education and Training for their extensive strategy process in the field of e-learning. The first and, so far only, university distance Master’s degree in Electrical Engineering and Information Technology in Germany (online Master EIT for short) contributed significantly to this.

Andreas Stöhr of the Chair of Optoelectronics was appointed adjunct professor at the University of Duisburg-Essen in 2015 and in the same year received an invitation to the Corning Research Center in the USA. He has now returned to the UDE following his scientific visit to Corning for several months.

In 2015, the IEEE Communications Society awarded the Fred W. Ellersick Prize to Mehdi Bennis, Meryem Simsek, Andreas Czylwik, Walid Saad, Stefan Valentin and Merouane Debbah from the Chair of Communication Systems for their article “When cellular meets Wi-Fi in wireless small cell networks” (EEE Communications Magazine 51:6, 2013).

The 2016 literature prize of the Energy Technology Society in the Association of German Electrical Engineers was awarded to Ngoc Tuan Trinh of the Chair of Electrical Systems and Networks.