Dean Prof. Dr. Matthias Epple
Dean Prof. Dr. Matthias Epple

The Faculty of Chemistry has 21 professors who undertake research in the entire scope of this science: the classical disciplines of Inorganic Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Physical Chemistry and Industrial Chemistry are complemented by Analytical Chemistry, the Biofilm Centre, the Didactics of Chemistry and Theoretical Chemistry. In addition to almost 1400 students in Bachelor and Master programmes, the Faculty also has some 180 doctoral students. Every year, around 40 young 
scientists – chemists, but also physicists, biologists, engineers and chemistry 
teachers – graduate with a doctoral degree. The Faculty’s particular strengths lie 
in the fields of Materials Science, Water Research, Supramolecular Chemistry and Empirical Educational Research.