The faculty honours the highest achieving students in each track of studies at the traditional annual graduation ceremonies, in the course of which awards are regularly given by collaborating industrial enterprises (Sachtleben Wasserchemie, BKG Water Solutions, Axel Semrau). Dr. Steffen Wiese received the Eberhard-Gerstel Award 2012 and Dorothea Kujawinski the Ernst-Bayer Award 2012 for distinguished scientific publications in Analytical Chemistry in the field of analytical separation techniques. Professor Reinhard Zellner received the Chemical Industry Fund’s 2012 ­publication award for “Chemie über den Wolken”, devised and written for the GDCh to mark the International Year of Chemistry 2011. The Fund’s publication award honours authors who advance popular understanding of chemistry-related ­topics. Professor Torsten C. Schmidt received the GDCh’s Fresenius Award, which will be presented at its national Wissenschaftsforum in 2013.