In November 2008, Prof. Dieter Jäger was awarded the title of honorary professor ofHuazhong University of Science and Technology (HUST), Wuhan, PR China. As a result of this appointment, Prof. Jäger has become a member of the HUST and is providing research and teaching support to the university and Wuhan National Laboratory for Optoelectronics in optoelectronics and photonics.
In acknowledgment of his work in inter­nationalising the teaching of engineering sciences, Prof. Axel Hunger was awarded the honorary doctorate of the Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM).
Dr.-Ing. Lars Häring was awarded the “Innovationspreis Ingenieurwissenschaften 2007” (Engineering Sciences Innovation Prize 2007) by the Sparkasse am Niederrhein for his thesis entitled “Synchronisation in multiuser OFDM systems”.