Faculty of Social Sciences

The Faculty of Social Sciences is made up of four institutes. The Institute of PoliticalScience and Institute of Sociology are amongst the largest university institutes intheir respective disciplines in Germany. They work alongside two social-scienceresearch institutes: the Institute for Work, Skills and Training (IAQ), which conductsinternationally recognised research on work and education, and the Institute forDevelopment and Peace (INEF), which is the only German research institute workingon issues at the interface between peace and development. All four are strong researchinstitutions and are closely interconnected through an array of research activities.