• A team headed by David Schäfer (General and Theoretical Electrical Engineering) ­received the Best Poster Award at the 2011 COMSOL Conference and the E-MRS 2012 Spring Meeting.
  • The interdisciplinary research project ­MINAPSO was among the winners of the “NanoMicro+ Materials NRW” innovation challenge (project partner from the faculty: General and Theoretical Electrical Engi­neering)
  • Mehmet Sanlialp (Nano Structures and ­Technology) was awarded the 2012 Siemens Innovation Award in Energy Technology for his Master’s thesis “Development of contact material for a thermoelectric generator from nano-crystalline silicon”.
  • Scientists from the Institutes of Nano Structures and Technology and Thermal Process Engineering together with IUTA e. V. and the Research and Training Center for Welding Technology received the InnoMateria Award 2012 for the first nano-silicon based thermoelectric generator.
  • Franziska Muckel (Electronic Materials and Nanostructures) received a scholarship from the Trust for Industry Research for her Master’s thesis “Nano-optics in magnetically doted semiconductor nano-ribbons”.
  • For her contribution “Quantum-confinement induced modification of magnetic dopant-carrier exchange coupling in manganese-doped CdSe nanoribbons”, Rachel Fainblat (Electronic Materials and Nanostructures) received the Young Scientist Best Paper Award at the 31st International Semiconductor Conference ICPS.
  • The “Nanotechnology” project class run by the nano school lab was nominated together with the Luise-von-Duesberg-Gymnasium in Kempen for the final round of the “School Meets Science” Award of the Robert Bosch Stiftung (Institute of Electronic Materials and Nanostructures).