Awards and Distinctions

In 2018 and 2019, ZMB members received numerous national and international awards and prizes in recognition of their outstanding scientific achievements. These included the following:

Prof. Ulf Dittmer, Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology (2018)

Dr. Barbara Grüner, Curious Minds Research Award, Merck and Manager Magazine, “Life Science” area (2018)

Ralf Küppers, Karl Musshoff Prize for Basic and Translational Science (2018)

Sebastian Schlücker, Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (2018)

Prof. Hendrik Streeck, Board of Trustees of the German AIDS Foundation (2018)

Prof. Matthias Gunzer, special prize of the “Essen.Gesund.Vernetzt. – Medizinische Gesellschaft e.V.” association in the Medicine and Science category (2019)

Prof. Doris Hellerschmied, Sofja Kovalevskaja Award, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (2019)

Dr. Jochen Niemeyer, Heisenberg Programme of the DFG (2019)

Prof. Andrea Musacchio, Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize (2020)