Awards and distinctions

The research achievements of CENIDE members and their staff are impressive. It is impossible to list these in full, but we would like to highlight a few Awards and distinctions.

Dr. Jochen Niemeyer was selected for the DFG’s Heisenberg Programme.

On December 4, 2019, Prof. Reinhard Zellner was awarded the Carl Duisberg Plaque of the German Chemical Society (GDCh).

For her research on the computer-aided design of composite materials, physicist Dr. Anna Grünebohm has succeeded in securing funding for an Emmy Noether Junior research group, with over €1.3 million to be provided over six years (Dr. Grünebohm transferred to RUB in 2019).

The Göttingen Academy of Sciences and Humanities awarded Jun. Prof. André Gröschel the Dannie Heineman Prize 2018. In addition, he received the Reimund Stadler Prize 2020 of the Macromolecular Chemistry division of the GDCh.

For his pioneering work on the inverse magnetocaloric effect, Dr. Mehmet Acet has been awarded the prestigious science prize, the Turkish Special Award.

The three CENIDE members Jun. Prof. Michael Giese, Jun. Prof. Jens Voskuhl and Dr. Jochen Niemeyer have been awarded the UDE Teaching Prize for their extraordinary commitment and their achievements in teaching.

For his “nano workshops” for primary school children, Prof. Sebastian Schlücker was award­ed 3rd prize in UD’s small business management (sbm) start-up contest. The chemist was also the recipient of the Indian Spectroscopy Society’s Dayawati Rastogi Lecture Award 2019.

Dr. Jochen Niemeyer received the Thieme Chemistry Journal Award 2018 for his innovative work in the field of organic synthesis and catalysis research.

Dr. Franziska Muckel is being supported by the DAAD funding programme “Postdoctoral Researchers International Mobility Experience” (P.R.I.M.E.). The support includes a 12-month period abroad and a six-month integration phase at a German university during the post-doc period.

Prof. Michael Farle has been appointed Adjunct Professor of Physics at Sharif University in Tehran (Iran).

Dr. Sven Reichenberger was awarded the ALTANA Young Chemist Prize.

The Fojtik-Henglein Prize 2018 was awarded to Dr. Bilal Gökce for his work on laser-based nanoparticle synthesis.

Iljana Stemmer completed her training as a materials tester at the Interdisciplinary Center for Analytics on the Nanoscale (ICAN) in the NanoEnergieTechnikZentrum. She qualified faster than is usually the case, and the result of her final examination was among the best of her year.

In addition, numerous graduates were awarded for their bachelor, master and doctoral theses.