Awards and Distinctions 

  • The work of Prof. Christof Schulz was acknow­ledged with the Leibniz Prize, the highest ­German research accolade, of the DFG in 2014. He received the prize jointly with Prof. Andreas Dreizler from the TU Darmstadt for the development of optical measurement techniques in combustion and nanoparticle synthesis.
  • The EU SecurEau project, in which the IWW Water Center was a project partner, was ­honoured with “Les Etoiles de l’Europe” (“The Stars of Europe”) in 2013 by the French Ministry of Education and Research. The award is given in recognition of interdisciplinary work and coordination of selected projects.
  • Two papers from the Chair of Environmental Process Engineering and Plant Design were selected for the Siemens Energy Thesis Award. Hüseyin Yilmaz received the award for his doctoral thesis on numerical and thermochemical methods of analysis of entrained flow gasifiers in 2014, and Christopher Schäfer in 2013 for his Master’s thesis on the construction of a dynamic simulation model for the NRW Reference Power Plant.
  • The Oechsler Award of the WAK Scientific ­Alliance of University Professors of Plastics Technology was presented during the K Messe 2013 to Martin Spitz for his dissertation, “Model-Based Life-Time Prediction for ­Dynamically Loaded Elastomer Components”, which he completed in of Engineering Design and Plastics Machinery group.
  • Prizes were awarded to several dissertations from the Chair of Mechatronics: The IGUS Vector Award 2014 went to the Manipulator research group for outstanding innovation in the application of wire manipulators;
  • Timo Hufnagel received the 2014 Innovation Award of the Sparkasse am Niederrhein and the Thomas-Gessmann Prize for his doctoral thesis; and
  • Sarah Daleske from the same chair won the Siemens Energy Thesis Award and the Prize of the Soroptimist International Society 2014 for her Master’s thesis. She was also honoured in 2013 with the Sparkasse Duisburg Award for her outstanding academic achievements.