Erwin L. Hahn Institute for Magnetic Resonance Imaging

  • In 2008, Dr.-Ing. Andreas Rennings was accepted onto the University of Duisburg-Essen's programme for postdoctoral researchers with his project proposal entitled "Metamaterial-basierte Hochfrequenz-Spulen für die Hochfeld-Magnetresonanztomographie".
  • Also in 2008, Dr. Dennis Klomp received the Poster Award in Dynamic NMR of the International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine.
  • Dr. Andreas Bitz won the Poster Award in Engineering of the International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine in 2009.
  • A Starting Independent Researcher Grant was awarded to Dr. Tom Scheenen in 2009 by the European Research Council.
  • In 2009, Dr.-Ing. Andreas Rennings was awarded the doctoral prize of the Association for Electrical, Electronic & Information Technologies (VDE e.V.) for his dissertation on "Elektromagnetische Zeitbereichssimulationen innovativer Antennen auf Basis von Metamaterialien".
  • The Department of General and Theoretical Engineering (ATE), the Department of High-Frequency Engineering and the Institute of Diagnostic and Interventional Radiology jointly won the "Transfer.NRW: Science-to-Business PreSeed" competition for their project proposal "Meta Coils - Metamaterialbasierte Hochfrequenz-Spulen für die 7-T-Magnetresonanztomographie".

The activation detected by conventional EPI (top) is less significant than in multi-echo (ME) EPI (bottom). Here the color overlay indicates the t-scores in activated and ‘deactivated’ brain regions.