Biomedical Science

  • After receiving a research fellowship from the Central European Society for Anticancer Drug Research-E W I V (C.E.S.A.R) in 2008, Dr. Stefan Kasper was awarded the Professor Dr. med. Lothar Diethelm Memorial Prize for his dissertation in the field of oncology research in 2009.
  • Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. (mult.) Robert was awarded the Ettore Majorana - Erice - Science for Peace Prize in 2009 for his contribution to the knowledge of the structure and function of proteins.
  • In 2008, Prof. Astrid Westendorf was awarded the Robert Koch post-doctoral prize, which is endowed with 5000 euros. The junior professor at the Institute for Microbiology at University Hospital Essen received the award in recognition of her research on the T lymphocytes of intestinal mucosa.
  • PD Dr. Joachim Dissemond from the Dermatology Clinic received the Springer Publication prize for Dermatology for the best original paper. The prize was conferred at the 45th annual conference of the German Society for Dermatology in Dresden.
  • For his analysis of tetanus protection of patients with chronic lesions, Prof. Andreas Körber received the 2nd Prize of the Fondation de Lous, awarded at the 12th Conference of the German Society for Wound Healing and Wound Treatment (DGfW e.V.) in Kassel.
  • Prizes from the Turkish Honorary Consul for excellent study results went to Dr. med. Peri Kocabayoglu and Dr. rer. medic. Suzan Tug.
  • Anna Kovtun received the DAAD Prize for Foreign Students at the University of Duisburg-Essen for 2008.
  • Dr. Viktoria Sokolova, Prof. Perihan Nalbant, Prof. Astrid Westendorf and Dr. Stefan Kasper were elected members of the Global Young Faculty 2009/2010, an initiative of the Mercator Foundation and the Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities (KWI) in Essen.
  • Anna-Maria Zellermann won the Association of German Engineers (VDI) 2009 young scientist award in nanotechnology for her work on the mechanical properties of blood substitute capsules.