In 2008, Anna Kovtun (Ph. D. student in Inorganic Chemistry) received the DAAD award for foreign students of the University of Duisburg-Essen. For the first time, the faculty awarded prizes in 2008 for the best graduation theses in the different study programmes. The winners were Eva Maria Berndt for her Diploma thesis “Synthesis and characterisation of stimuli-responsive polymers for switchable coatings”, Kevin Stellafor his Diploma thesis “Electronic excitationprocesses during the adsorption of molecules on platinum and gold surfaces”, Daniel Sydes for his Bachelor thesis “Determination of ammonium, calcium, magnesium, sodium and potassium in drinking water by capillary zone electrophoresis on a chip”, Karsten Nödler for his Master thesis “Asellus aquaticus as passive collector of lipophilic organic substances in contaminated aquifers”, Sabrina Witner for her state examination thesis “Video analysis of error abundance in experimental situations in small groups as depending on various supporting measures”, and Felix Warbruck for his state examination thesis “Further development of the multimedia teaching tutorial ‘Sun-Explorer’ to promote individual learning in chemistry”. For the best Bachelor theses in the Water Science programme, students Sören Bellenberg, Jan Frösler, Andrea Kraus, Karin Klingelhöller and Daniel Tabersky were awarded the Axel Semrau prize for junior scientists. Nanni Noel, Svenja Tulipani, Maike Cyris and Andrzej Kuklinski received the Sachtleben Water Award for the best Master theses, while Joris Buiter (Bachelor) and Matthis Keller (Master) received special awards from BK Giulini for the best theses in water engineering.